Our first stomach flu!

So my little one came down with the flu late Monday night. She was puking through the early morning and such a little trooper. When she woke up for the day she was hungry and thirsty. We sipped some water and ate thin slices of banana. It’s really hard to tell a 2 1/2 year old that she can’t have any other food. I found myself sneaking food like an inmate because she always wants to eat what I am eating. So what do you feed your little one when they have the stomach flu. Every Doc will tell you the B.R.A.T diet. Banana, rice, applesauce, and toast. We don’t keep bread in the house and we eat rice about once a week. Good thing I had left over rice in the fridge.

I was feeling a little queasy myself and really wanted some toast. It really is a curse that we have a local bakery at the top of our street that makes fresh bread every morning. Lucy and I walked up to the bakery and I got a loaf of the multi grain bread…eek! I had them toast one piece for Lucy on the way home and I have learned that this little chick likes just plain bread not toast.
So far she was keeping things down. Small sips of water, little bites of bread and thin slices of banana. I know the bread is not paleo but it seems to be the only thing she wants to eat.

I knew she would have a hard time when we sat down to dinner and she couldn’t have any of the roast chicken and veggies. I opted to make her some homemade applesauce. WHY HAVEN’T I BEEN MAKING THIS SINCE SHE WAS AN INFANT. It was so easy and so incredibly good. My husband came down with the bug on Wednesday and he got to take part in the applesauce goodness.
I came down with a rendition of the nasty bug yesterday and just can’t seem to get right. Just made some mashed potatoes and I’m feeling a little better. Here’s hoping that we have sent this bug packing!

Here is the recipe for the applesauce for those that want to give it a go!

Applesauce:
* 5-6 baby apples
* 3/4 cup of water
* 2 Tbls of raw honey
* Cinnamon (to taste, I like a lot)

1. Peel and core the apples, cut into cubes.
2. Place in a sauce pot and combine with the water, honey, and cinnamon.
3. Bring to a boil and then reduce to a simmer.
4. Cover and cook for 20-25 minutes, until apples are fork tender.
5. Using an emersion blender or potato masher crush the apples to desired consistency.
6. Place in a bowl and put in the fridge until cool.

Leave a Reply

