A full day of play and clean eating!

We are in our third and last week here in sunny CA and yesterday was a full day of play. We planned a day trip into Santa Barbara. I made a picnic lunch for us the night before.

20140417-144419.jpg
I made a bunch of Trader Joe’s chicken sausages and sliced them into bite sized pieces, sliced up some peppers, grabbed some apples, grabbed a bag of cashews and almonds, and popped some organic popcorn kernels. Filled up some water bottles with water and we were all set for a day at the beach.

Ryan and I did talk about the business a bit but I have to say that the majority of the day was spent having fun. Seeing some sites, playing in the water and the sand and taking a nice drive back to Ojai.

20140417-144959.jpg

20140417-145008.jpg

I knew that when we got home the last thing I would want to do is cook. So I made sure I wouldn’t have to by planning ahead for dinner and made one of the family favorites, avocado tuna salad, a few nights a head of time. I did need to cook some black beans (they go perfectly with the cilantro lime rice left over from the night before) but that takes very little prep time and they just simmer on the stove top for a while. I also had a workout I needed to do before dinner. Here is a tip on how to get all this done and not waist any time.
I turned the oven on to 375, prepped the black beans and got them going on the stove. I changed into my workout clothes and by the time that was all done the oven was up to temp and all I needed to do was put the avocado tuna salad in the oven and then turn the oven off. By doing this the dish will warm up without over cooking. I can leave it in the oven warming up while I was doing my work out and the beans were simmering away. By the time I was done with my workout all I needed to do was put the pieces of dinner together for a yummy dish.

By planning a head you really do save yourself from making bad choices! We could have easily grabbed take out or pizza on the way home but we knew we had a clean and super tasty meal waiting for us.

It was a great day filled with good fun and good food and too much sun!

Leave a Reply

