I Triple Dog Dare You!

As week three of this reset ends and week four begins I find myself thinking about what “treat” I’m going to have on day 31. My husband and I did a New Years reset last year and that seemed like a piece of cake compared to this one. Even though we were living with my parents, my mom is notorious for coming back from the grocery store with items that she just “had a taste” for, and we had temptation behind the pantry door it seemed so much easier than this one.
We removed all temptation from the house. However, this month we potty trained Lucy, transitioned her to a toddler bed, my husband has been working 12 hour days 6 days a week, it’s been a very long winter and March has been so f’ing cold…I think you get the point, there was ALOT of stress this month. Stress can make sticking to a paleo/primal way of eating with no treats and no alcohol tough. But you know what – I’ve stuck to it and in this final week I’m going to do my best not to make a mental list of all the things I want to eat when the 30 day reset is over. I have already decided that on 3/31 I will enjoy a little tequila and some organic popcorn. AND THATS IT!

Instead of planning out treats I’m going to focus on all the great things that came out of this reset. When you cut out the crap you become more creative in the kitchen and I loved getting creative with food again. I also love that my skin is better (no break outs), my daily headaches are GONE, I don’t wake up in a fog in the morning, my moods have leveled out for the most part, I don’t have a constant feeling of bloat in my abdomen, my digestion is “regular” (hey we all do it and isn’t it nice when it’s not an issue), and my “monthly cycle” was not disruptive to the household (very few Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde episodes).

The biggest difference I have noticed is with my toddler and tantrums. While she still has tantrums, that is just my reality for the next few years, I have noticed that I can cut her off at the pass now. Before the reset she would fight you to the death if she wasn’t getting her way no matter what approach I took with her. Now, as soon as she starts to come apart (We all know the signs. The mean face, jumping up and down, tears, and screaming) I get down to her level and tell her to collect herself and to calm down. I let her know that her behavior will not get her what she wants and as the weeks progressed she got better and better at being able to take control of the emotions she was feeling. I haven’t seen a full blown melt down in about a week or so. Some doubters will call it a fluke or have some other reason to explain it and for those people/doubters I say….I DARE YOU! I dare you to take the 30 day challenge with your kids. I am a firm believer that we are what we eat and if we eat natural clean food our bodies can be amazing machines and if we supply it with junk your machine will break down from the inside out.

If you wouldn’t willingly drink liquid drano why are you willing to drink soda? We know it’s loaded with synthetic ingredients, chemicals, artificial this and that but Americans consume this in staggering amounts. If you wouldn’t willingly eat rat poison why are you willing to eat fast food or food that was “created” with synthetic ingredients, chemicals and artificial this and that? Next time you go to the grocery store and you are checking out take a look at what you loaded into your cart. How many products have nutrition labels? Of those items with labels how many of them have more than 5 ingredients? Of those items with more than 5 ingredients, do you know what they all are? Can you pronounce them all? If not you probably shouldn’t put it in your cart or your mouth. It’s probably making you sick.

Even if you commit to one item a month that you will no longer purchase or consume is a step in the right direction.
Being a Clevelander I find this closing statement appropriate…..

I TRIPLE DOG DARE YOU! Starting April 1st what will you commit to no longer purchasing and consuming?

Leave a Reply

