Week Two Run Down

Weights, chocolate, momentum, airfare, yoga, and breakfast!

As I finished my cup of tea this morning, I set my cup down and realized for the first time in two weeks how significant this cup was.

20140315-100814.jpg
This is a mug my husband brought back from a recent trip to CA. I pulled this mug out of the cupboard on day one of the reset and designated it as my “small” cup for my morning tea. The mug says “Get Momentum” and was handed out at a leadership conference our friends put on in Ojai, California. My husband went out to CA to meet with friends, he did not attend the conference but he did bring home this mug. When my husband came back from CA he was so motivated and focused on his goals. Having time to focus and talk with like minded people helped him to put things into perspective. So much so we will be going out there as a family in April and just purchased our airfare. The momentum from his trip has rubbed off on me and it continues to grow. I can’t wait for our trip, for time to spend as a family and focus on our future plans. Huge things are happening and I have to point out again, having positive people in your life that truly push you to reach your goals and show a genuine desire to see you succeed are priceless gifts. If you are looking to make “your best better” go here: http://womackcompany.com

Ok, so how did week two go? Today is day 15. Remember my earlier post where I talked about day 15? Here we are, day 15. Week two is rough. Your energy level is low and you feel the effects of the detox. Here are some things that I did to get through week two.

When I am not being vigilant about what I eat I rarely eat breakfast. I don’t wake up hungry and I probably don’t eat until lunch time – this is when I know my body is not running on the proper fuel. As week two progressed I was waking up hungry again. One small thing I did differently was to eat breakfast. Normally I would just have my cup of tea and that’s it. Not this week. I was back to eating breakfast which helps with that morning fog and low energy. Breakfast was a few slices of bacon or bacon and eggs, or just some eggs. I keep breakfast very simple because my little one wakes up acting like a starved velociraptor and my husband has been working his ass off and leaves pretty early in the morning so I need to have quick go to breakfast options. I would rotate between bacon, bacon and eggs, sausage, and sausage and eggs, or just eggs. Each morning there is a little bit of fruit or Lara Bar to go with the protein or left over veggies from the previous nights dinner. For the next two weeks I’ll be making some frittatas to store in the fridge/freezer to change it up and to save some more time in the morning.

I did well with cutting back on my fruit intake and started to eat more fat to curb the hunger throughout the day. I would eat at least half an avocado with dinner, a snack of mixed nuts, and around bed time I would have some almond butter or some coconut cream. SPEAKING OF COCONUT CREAM….

I was really missing chocolate. While you can find some really clean chocolate options at Whole Foods and Trader Joes, we decided that we wouldn’t be indulging ourselves. I did have some left over coconut whipped cream from a dessert I made, you can find the recipe here https://mypaleobaby.wordpress.com/2014/03/02/smells-good-mama/, and some really good looking strawberries. What goes great with strawberries? Chocolate! I added a few spoonfuls of 100% cocoa powder to the whipped cream and holy smokes, what a treat! This really helped me stay on track and not give in to the cravings. I had a little spoonful with some cut up strawberries. Remember…. This is still a treat and should be enjoyed on occasion. If this is your first go at paleo you shouldn’t have it at all during the first 30-90 days. Getting rid of the cravings and proving to yourself that you don’t need teats is your primary focus. Once you have accomplished that then you can reintroduce treats/paleo treats.

As you know I have also been doing a 6 week push up challenge and 30 day squat challenge. Push ups have always been my kryptonite. The push up challenge continues to be challenging and no alterations are needed. However, the squats needed a little something more. I wasn’t “feeling” them in the proper places to which I knew I was not activating my glutes and hamstrings during the “drop”. I was just falling into a squat position. I know when I am doing weighted squats I am forced to activate those muscles so I don’t bottom out and can fire myself up and out of the hole. So, I added weight to my squats this week. I started with two 20# dumb-bells and only made it through part of the 130 squats that I was required to do that day. I dropped to just one 20# dumb-bell and found that this gave me the right amount of tension to keep the appropriate muscles engaged and the right amount of added challenge. Yes, I need to and will continue to work on my air squat. It’s important to be able to engage those muscles with and without the added weight.

Last but not least I was able to make it to two yoga classes this week. This time out of the house, away from the stress of potty training and a toddler bed is much needed. My little one is going through this reset stuff as well along with potty training and a new bed. We have been going toe to toe more often than not and by the time my husband would get home I was so stressed out I was just ready to explode. I am very thankful for this time out of the house. It really is vital for my mental well being. I ended the week with a visit to CrossFit Independence to watch the members there take on The Open workout 14.3. Wow do I miss CrossFit! The community at CFI is amazing. The strength and commitment shown by all who participated was amazing to watch. I know I will be back at it in the neat future. Surrounded by great people. I just need to remain focused – big things are coming.

Stay tuned. Week three is just getting started! More recipes to come this week. Here is to staying the course and keeping the momentum – even during the toughest of days! Thank y for following along on this journey. You all inspire me!

Leave a Reply

