Smells Good Mama

Am I the only one who struggles with a sweet tooth? I have a whole mouth full of sweet ones. Durning my reset I try and limit the amount of sugar I am taking in from fruit and raw honey. Sugar is still sugar no matter how natural it is. My go to bed time snack durning my reset is a sliced apple and a hefty scoop of almond butter. I have found that this snack takes care of my obsession with crunch and takes care of the sweet and creamy.
However, my little one asked for pie the other day and that made me think about pie. Another great reminder as to the need for a paleo reset.

I made warm cinnamon mango chunks as a side dish the other night and had some left over. With those left overs I made a tasty little dessert for my little one. I even got a “mells good Mama” from my little one (translation mells = smells). I think I out did myself with this one so I had to share.

Warm Cinnamon Mango Chunks with Coconut Whipped Cream!
It’s not a great picture, sorry.

20140302-204230.jpg

Warm Cinnamon Mangos:
* 2 bags of frozen mango chunks (no added sugar)
* 2-3 Tbls of butter
* 2 Tbls of raw honey
* cinnamon to taste (I love cinnamon so I used about 2 Tbls)

1. Melt butter over medium/high heat. Be careful not to burn it. Browning is fine, it adds a little nutty flavor.
2. Add honey and stir together. Cook on medium heat until it thickens a bit.
3. Stir in cinnamon.
4. Add frozen mangos (you can defrost the mangos a head of time, just be sure to drain off the liquid) and toss with the yummy goodness in the pan.
5. Continue to cook until mangos are hot and coated with the warm cinnamon sauce.

Coconut Whipped Cream:
* 1 can of full fat coconut milk or cream refrigerated over night (I used a can of Trader Joes heavy coconut cream)
* 1 vanilla bean or 1 tsp of vanilla extract
* 2 Tbls of raw honey

1. Place the can of coconut milk in the refrigerator for at least 6 hours (or overnight). This will cause the cream to separate from the milk.
2. Open the can of coconut milk and scrape out the cream into a bowl. Hint: you can keep the milk left at the bottom of the can for smoothies or scramble with eggs.
3. Add vanilla bean seeds and honey to the cream and beat with a hand mixer or stand mixer until light and fluffy.

Serve over a bowl of warm cinnamon mangos. Enjoy! I know we did!

One thought on “Smells Good Mama

  1. […] I did have some left over coconut whipped cream from a dessert I made, you can find the recipe here https://mypaleobaby.wordpress.com/2014/03/02/smells-good-mama/, and some really good looking strawberries. What goes great with strawberries? Chocolate! I added a […]

Leave a Reply

