Spice of Life

I have to admit, adding spice to Lucy’s food is one thing I was unsure of. I have added some cinnamon to her apples and sweet potato but everything else I have left pretty bland – until now.

Last week I tried just a little bit of thyme on Lucy’s chicken to test the waters. I have heard that their little taste buds are more sensitive and that bland food may be best. I got to thinking, she has already been exposed to spice via my breast milk so why am I feeding her bland finger food? Her reaction to the thyme chicken was, spitting the first bite out and then proceed to play with the bite between her fingers. She did eat it with no issue after a few more bites.

I have done some research and have found that bland food may not be best for baby. Introducing them to new flavors at a young age is a great way to get them used to new foods as they continue to grow. I highly suggest that you follow the “4 day rule” when introducing spices.  Just incase there is a reaction to something, you will be able to pinpoint what was different in their diet.

Here are some combos’s to try to get you started:

* Sweet Potato w/ cinnamon, nutmeg, or cardamom

* Carrots w/ cinnamon, garlic, or basil

* Chicken & Turkey w/ Lemon, pepper, basil, garlic, sage, rosemary, or thyme

* Beef w/ pepper, garlic, or basil

Mix and match the seasonings, get creative. Your baby will thank you for it!

If you have made a dish that your baby/kid LOVES we would love to hear about it and I”ll be happy to post it on the recipe page. I love trying yummy dishes that  other paleo families are making!

Eat Real – Jen

Lucy with her Grandma. A home photo shoot for birthday party invites.

Leave a Reply

