My Kids Wont Eat That!

I was recently asked about the paleo diet by a family member. She was interested in the info for herself and I asked about her kids. I asked her “If you don’t want to eat that stuff any more, why would you feed your kids that”? With that question I got her thinking!!! (Love you L) I also had a comment on one of my posts that said “I don’t even know where to start”… This is for all those who are asking and unsure where to start.

EAT REAL FOOD. Did it have a face? Can you grow it in your garden or on a tree? If you can answer yes to those two main questions then you have the basic make up to a paleo diet. Also, READ, “THE PALEO SOLUTION” by Robb Wolf. His website is a great place to start as well. robbwolf.com

If your meals are coming from boxes and the middle isles at the grocery store, odds are they are far from good for you. Shop the perimeter of the grocery store. That’s where all the good stuff is.

Instead of getting into the nitty gritty of the paleo diet, that’s what Robb’s book is for I would rather share one families journey towards the paleo diet. My brother-in-law and his wife were vegetarians. They had been for years, dare I say a decade give or take a year, and raised 4 beautiful kids as such (we call them “The Crowd”).  Admittedly their diet was more grain and soy based but that has all changed. FOR THOSE WITH KIDS: Did you catch that, they have 4 kids who really didn’t like veggies. I won’t go into the why behind their lifestyle change, that’s not my story to tell. I think how they did it is what’s beneficial here.

At first they tried to introduce veggies a few nights a week with dinner and that went over like a ton of bricks. We tried everything (as a family we all supported the parents and the kids through this change). We counted for the younger ones “count to three and I’ll take a bite”. We had them race each other, who could finish their small portion first. Dessert was dangled as an incentive. “You are going to have it for breakfast” was even said… I remember being told that as I stared at a cold slab of grey liver smothered in ketchup on my plate as a child (no one had veggies or liver for breakfast). There were good nights and then there were not so good nights. No parent wants to battle their kids over food. Dinner is family time and should be enjoyed, so this was hard for the kids and the parents… AND this was just the vegetables. The kids had never had meat. Three out of the four kids had a hard time with the meat, the second oldest – all he needed was a piece of bacon and he was sold. My kinda kid! At this point the family wasn’t on a strict paleo diet. The introduction of the veggies and meat was just the start.

It wasn’t until a year or so later that my sister-in-law read Robb’s book and told her family they were going paleo. She got rid of all the non-paleo food in the house and went cold turkey! She also took the time to educate her children as to why this way of eating was good for them, why they would not be eating cereal for breakfast any more, or have beans and rice for dinner on Tuesday’s anymore (I miss beans and rice night). She showed them what they would be eating instead and got the kids involved in making the meals when it made sense.  I forgot to mention that The Crowd had grown by one just before all this started so at this point the youngest was just starting to eat solids and was eating the meat and veggies quicker than you could fill his plate. The second youngest whose favorite line a year earlier was “I hate bechtables” was asking me “Aunt Jen, are you and Uncle Ryan paleo? Because we are!”. The kids were proud of what they ate. I am sure there were some tough mornings, or dinners when they were trying something new but my sister-in-law stood strong and stayed committed to the choice.

When people tell me that’s it’s to hard and they are to tired to fight with their kids over eating meat and veggies I think of The Crowd and what a HUGE lifestyle change they made with 5 small kids and they made it through. What’s harder? Having a few nights of “I don’t want it” or sitting in the Dr’s office over and over again because your child is sick or worse, in the hospital because they are really sick?

IF you clean your out your cupboards of the junk (cereal, crackers, cookies, candy, juice, pasta, mac and cheese, fruit snacks – all those things that don’t grow on trees, in a garden, or had a face) and the only options are REAL FOOD, the kids learn pretty quick that there are no other choices. It’s when you continue to stock these items in the house that you start to lose the battle.

As a kid, in our house dessert was a real treat. We had it once in awhile. Now it’s part of the nightly routine for most American’s. My sister-in-law treats her kids to non-paleo surprises now and then but it’s hardly a regular thing.

I hate to read about parents and children struggling with digestive issues, chronic ear infections, colds, reflux, and the likes. I wish they would understand that this is NOT NORMAL. I want to ask them how long are you going to let your medicine cabinet fill up with medication and your calendar fill up with Dr’s appointments before you take some personal control of your own health and well being?

All I ask is that you do some research. Read the book, poke around on Robb’s website and educate yourself on what you are putting in your body instead of just putting crap in your shopping cart because you have a coupon for it and it’s double coupon day at the store.

I’m reading a friends book right now, “Your Best Just Got Better” By Jason Womack, and his phrase to help motivate people is “Just Get Started”…. Just get started people! You are on the computer or your smart phone right now. After you like this post ; ) and click on follow (so you can be notified when I post again) do some research, order The Paleo Solution, decided to do something TODAY!!!!

OH and did I mention that The Crowd will be growing by one more this November – that makes 6 babies. Paleo is also beneficial for baby making, Robb talks about this in his book… for those folks who have been trying and trying – take a look in your pantry first!

Thank you R and X for the inspiration for this post. You are an amazing family!!! Miss the hell out of you guys!!!! xxxxxxxxoooooooo (hug and kiss for everyone)

Eat Real – Jen

Lucy’s 1st Halloween costume. My husband drew on my belly for Halloween, Lucy was born a week later!

6 thoughts on “My Kids Wont Eat That!

  1. Anika says:

    All right already! 😉 I’m goin to the library today and I’ll check out the book. Is there such a thing as being a paleo vegetarian? I really have no desire whatsoever to put meat in my belly, but can definitely change up some stuff around here for everyone else. H

  2. jmspeed711 says:

    Anika- getting the book and reading it is a great first step. The bloating you speak of is probably a combination of the grains and veggies. If you take out the grains you will be left with just fruit and veggies. I would guess you would get sick of chewing before you ever felt full – fat/animal fat is good for the brain and is filling. I understand your position on meat, that’s something you have to decide for yourself.

    • Anika says:

      I’m going to pick up the book hopefully tomorrow. I’ve also been reading a bit on The Mediterranean Diet which has been making sense (for me). I think I’m just ready for an all over change. I really don’t think I eat that bad, but I also know there are days when I don’t get enough protein and fill up on carbs (LOVE me some carbs, but don’t want to be addicted to anything) to make the hunger go away. Unfortunately, there are no Whole Foods, etc. conveniently close to me. There is one halfway decent Farmer’s Market around but it’s on Saturdays, and right now they are filled with the kids’ Special Olympics activities. Where there is a will there is a way, and I know once I get in the habit of picking the right foods it won’t be that difficult at all ;D
      I’m really enjoying your blog, it makes me feel like I’m in Lucy’s life and I can’t wait to meet you both. Lots of love always…

      • jmspeed711 says:

        I am so glad you follow along. Can’t wait to meet you and your family!!!
        I wish you luck and ease with any changes you decide to make. Change isn’t easy. I wish I wasn’t addicted to processed foods either. I’m taking it a day at a time. Some days I win and some days I lose. Us Moms gotta stick together.

  3. Hannah Draper says:

    I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back down the road. Many thanksNorth Richland Hills Roofing, 6749 Manor Dr., North Richland Hills, TX 76180 – (817) 381-1700

Leave a Reply

